Are you a University of Tampa or UT student who has been arrested and charged with DUI? If so you will need a UT dui lawyer to represent you! At Finenbloom, Haenel & Higgins we have dui lawyers in UT areas that can help you through this ordeal and assist you in achieving the most favorable outcome for your particular situation.
Zero Tolerance for Drivers under 21
The most important thing to know about a UT dui arrest is the “zero tolerance” law. If you are a UT college student you may not be 21. If you are not, there are special dui laws that apply directly to you.
Section 322.2616, Florida Statutes, authorizes law enforcement officers having probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle is being driven by or is in the actual physical control of a person who is under the age of 21 while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or who has any alcohol level may lawfully detain this person and may request them to submit to a test to determine the alcohol level. This violation is neither a traffic infraction nor a criminal offense, nor does being detained under this statute constitute an arrest.
Any driver under the age of 21 that has a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher will automatically have their Florida driver’s license suspended for 6 months.
The .02 limit really means that you cannot have a single drink and drive. If you even have one drink and drive while under 21 you can be criminally convicted of a DUI charge!
This special provision in the law can have a huge impact on your case if you are under 21 or if your arrest was the result of an investigation of a person under 21. The only way you will know for sure if you have any defenses is to speak with a qualified dui attorney in UT that understands the technical aspects of a dui charge.
When considering a dui lawyer UT students should consider the huge impact a dui conviction can have on their lives. A dui conviction is expensive and time consuming. It may also affect scholarships or financial aid. When convicted for a first time dui the minimum penalties are as follows:
- 12 months probation
- 50 public service hours
- Dui School
- Drug Evaluation
- 10 day impoundment of the vehicle you were driving
- An additional six month license suspension and
- A $500 fine
- If you blew over a .15 then the fine is increased to $1000
- If you blew over a .15 you will also be required to install an ignition interlock on your vehicle for at least 6 months.
Although not mandatory, the judge has the discretion of placing you in jail up to six months (nine months if you blow over a .15).
You will also face increased costs in insurance rates and you will have to disclose the conviction on college applications, job applications and some financial aid and scholarship applications. A dui charge must also be disclosed on some professional license applications. A dui conviction can keep you from entrance into some college programs such as nursing and engineering. By talking with a UT dui attorney students can discuss the impact this arrest will have on their current situation.
When hiring a dui attorney UT students need to ensure they are hiring the best!! When you are a student there is a lot at stake if convicted. At Finebloom, Haenel & Higgins we not only have experience defending dui cases, we have experience defending underage drinkers accused of dui. Do not wait! Call us now at 813-200-4412 to discuss your options. Let us help you fight your case today!!